Honoring Innovators

©Chester Higgins Jr.

Six risk-taking, history-making photographers have been inducted into the International Photography Hall of Fame: Edward Burtynsky, Chester Higgins, Graciela Iturbide, Helen Levitt, Danny Lyon, and Sarah Moon. The inductees were honored at an awards ceremony in November, and an exhibition featuring their work is on display at the International Photographic Hall of Fame and Museum in St. Louis, Missouri, through Feb. 11.

Each year a nominating committee of International Photography Hall of Fame representatives and other notable photographic leaders work together to select inductees, which are chosen based on their contributions to the art and science of photography and their impact on the industry and its history.  

Amanda Arnold is a senior editor.