United States and Mexico Tie for the Cup

©Ted York

It was a historic battle for the 2022 World Photographic Cup. For the first time since the challenge’s inception, two teams came out on top. Both Team Mexico and Team USA can lay claim to the trophy for the next year.

Established in 2013, the World Photographic Cup pits national teams of photographers from around the world against each other in friendly competition. Images are entered into six categories—commercial, illustration/digital art, nature (landscape and wildlife), portrait, reportage/photojournalism, and wedding—and are evaluated by international judges. Individual photographers stand to earn gold, silver, and bronze medals in the various categories. Teams are then awarded points based on where team members placed in the top 10 of each photography category. The team with the highest score secures first place.

Winners of the 2022 competition were announced May 2 in Rome, Italy.

1. Mexico

1. United States of America

3. Australia

4. Spain

5. Portugal

6. Sweden

7. Canada

8. Finland

9. Japan

10. Poland

Commercial Category
Illustrative Category
Nature Category
Portrait Category
Reportage Category
Wedding Category