Professional Photographers of America Changes Board Composition for 2017

Washington Photographer Rob Behm Takes Seat as Head of Nonprofit Association Board for Working Photographers.

ATLANTA, GA (March 1, 2017) - Beginning today, Professional Photographers of America (PPA) announced Washington photographer Rob Behm, M.Photog.Cr., CPP as its new president. Behm begins a year-long term that extends through the end of February 2018. Behm expressed his excitement and appreciation for the appointment.

"I'm excited and humbled to represent the 30,000 members that make up PPA," he said. "I would have never guessed when I first joined PPA in 1991 that our photographic community would elect me one day to this position."

"Today indeed marks the beginning of a new leadership year for Professional Photographers of America (PPA)," added Behm, "as this is the day that association officers changed with a series or rotations within our executive board."

The new Treasurer began her service, the previous Treasurer assumed the role of Vice President, the previous Vice President assumed the role of President, the previous President assumed the role of Chairman of the Board and the previous Chairman rotated off the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors—all PPA members themselves—will shape the vision for the association until March 2018. Its members include the following:

Chairman Lori Craft, Cr.Photog., from Marshall, MI

President Rob Behm, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Spokane Valley, WA

Vice President Stephen Thetford, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Fayetteville, AR

Treasurer Audrey Wancket, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Spring Grove, IL

Director Kathryn Meek, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, AP, from Hot Springs, AR

Director Clark Marten, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Billings, MT

Director Gregory Daniel, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, F-ASP, from Titusville, FL

Director Mary Fisk-Taylor, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, ABI, API, from Richmond, VA

Director Barbara Bovat, Cr.Photog., from Claverack, NY

Director Jeffrey Dachowski, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Bedford, NH

Director Steve Kozak, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Grand Prairie, TX

Director Michael Hanline, from St. Paul, MN

And newly elected Director Kira Derryberry, M.Photog.Cr., CPP; Tallahassee, FL who also started her role on the board today.

PPA is a nonprofit association and the board is an essential component of that designation, taking an active role in its legal and financial responsibilities, visioning and policy. Each member of the PPA board is an active, professional photographer and brings a unique set of skills and talents to the table, aiding PPA in a variety of areas. Each board member serves three two-year terms and becomes eligible to run for the executive board after completing their first term.

About PPA:
Professional Photographers of America (PPA) is the largest international nonprofit association created by professional photographers, for professional photographers. Almost as long-lived as photography itself, PPA's roots date back to 1869. It assists nearly 30,000 members through protection, education and resources for their continued success. Learn more at


Related Content