Benefits / Resources / Articles
March 07, 2019

Press Release: Professional Photographers of America Announces 2019 Board Composition

ATLANTA (PRWEB) March 01, 2019

Beginning today, Professional Photographers of America (PPA) welcomes Illinois photographer Audrey L. Wancket, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, as its new president. Wancket begins a year-long term that extends through the end of February 2020.

“It is an honor and a privilege to serve as president of Professional Photographers of America,” Wancket said. “It is exciting to have this opportunity to give back to an organization that has given me so much over the past three-decades-plus, as I grew from a young professional photographer to one with a successful, thriving business.”

Wancket takes over the position after serving last year as the Vice President. The new Treasurer, Mary Fisk-Taylor, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, ABI, API, began her service today as well. The previous Treasurer, Gregory Daniel, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, F-ASP, assumes the role of Vice President. The previous President, Stephen Thetford, M.Photog.Hon.M.Photog.Cr., CPP, assumes the role of Chairman of the Board and the previous Chairman, Rob Behm, M.Photog.Hon.M.Photog.Cr., CPP, rotates off of the Board of Directors.

PPA has a lot planned for 2019 as the association celebrates its historic sesquicentennial celebration. “I am looking forward to working with our brilliant, caring Board of Directors and the dedicated, talented staff of PPA as we continue to encourage, educate, inspire and protect our 30,000 members,” Wancket said. “As we celebrate 150 years at PPA, we know that this truly is the greatest photography association in the world.”

The Board of Directors—all PPA members themselves—will shape the vision for the association until March 2020. Its members include the following:

Chairman Stephen Thetford, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Ft. Smith, AR
President Audrey Wancket, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Spring Grove, IL
Vice President Gregory Daniel, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, F-ASP, from Titusville, FL
Treasurer Mary Fisk-Taylor, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, ABI, API, from Richmond, VA
Director Barbara Bovat, Cr.Photog., from Claverack, NY
Director Clark Marten, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Billings, MT
Director Jeffrey Dachowski, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Bedford, NH
Director Kira Derryberry, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Tallahassee, FL
Director Mark Campbell, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, API from Wheeling, WV
Director Allison English Watkins, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Park City, UT
Director Pete Rezac, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, from Reno, NV, beginning his first term.
Director Kristen Kaiser from Morton, IL, beginning her first term.
Industry Advisor Michael Hanline from St. Paul, MN

PPA is a nonprofit association and the board is an essential component of that designation, taking an active role in its legal and financial responsibilities, visioning and policy. Each member of the PPA board is an active, professional photographer and brings a unique set of skills and talents to the table, aiding PPA in a variety of areas. Each board member serves three two-year terms and becomes eligible to run for the executive board after completing their first term.

About PPA:
Professional Photographers of America (PPA) is the largest and longest-standing nonprofit photography trade association with a 150-year history. It currently helps 30,000+ pros elevate their craft and grow their business with resources, protection, and education, all under PPA’s core guiding principle of bridging the gap between what photographers do as artists and entrepreneurs and what consumers want.

As we celebrate 150 years at PPA, we know that this truly is the greatest photography association in the world.