Benefits / Resources / Articles
September 07, 2017

2018 Grand Imaging Award Finalists Announced by Professional Photographers of America

Winners from the 2017 International Photographic Competition Revealed During Imaging USA in Nashville, Tennessee, Jan. 15, 2018.

ATLANTA, GA (September 7, 2017) - Professional Photographers of America (PPA) has announced its finalists for the Grand Imaging Awards, to be awarded at Imaging USA 2018, the largest annual conference and trade show for pro photographers. The Grand Imaging Award finalists have been judged to be the very best of the 2017 PPA International Photographic Competition (IPC). The Grand Imaging Award finalists were selected from 5,800 entries judged by a panel of 33 jurors. There are ten finalists in ten categories comprising the Grand Imaging Awards, and one winner from the ten categories will be named the recipient of the overall Grand Imaging Award. View slideshows of the finalists at

The Grand Imaging Award finalists are:

In the Animal Portrait category: Aurora DeLuca, Barbara Breitsameter (two images), Carl Caylor, Danica Barreau, Erich Caparas, Jody Miller, Michelle Garcia, Sarah Stiles and Susan Gertz.

In the Children’s Portrait category: Brent Lewis, Cristie Reddehase, DiAnna Paulk, Felice Boucher, Kathy Wierda, Kathy Wierda, Kimberly Smith, Leslie Kitten, Louise Simone and Mariellen Youngdahl.

In the General Portrait category: Ben Shirk, Christie Newell, Erich Caparas, Francie Baltazar Stonestreet, Jean Wall, Joseph Simone, Kent Shelton, Lauren DelVecchio, Michelle Parsley and Phaneendra Gudapati.

In the Landscape & Nature category: Douglas Bennett, Ed Cooley, Erica Harvey, Jonathan Adams, Kimberly Smith, Laura Bennett, Mona Sadler, Robert Smith, Ryan Hellard and Trudy Evans.

In the Illustrative & Commercial category: Amy Feick, Andrea Joliat, Ben Shirk, David Quisenberry, Elaine Hughes, Gail Nogle, Karen Nakamura, Michelle Garcia, Michelle Parsley and Russell Jensen.

In the High-School Senior Portrait category: Adrian Henson, Cyndi Hornsby, Ed Pedi, Gail Carver, Megan Drane, Melissa Thompson, Michelle Parsley, Salvatore Cincotta, Shana Woods and Travis Gadsby.

In the Wedding category: Erich Caparas, Gary Hughes, Jose Luis Guardia Vazquez, Marceliano Munoz, Mario Munoz, Maryanne Keeling, Molly Long, Ryan Higgins, Salvatore Cincotta and Tomas Munoz.

In the Non-Event Album category: Alison Miniter, Carol Scott, Chelsea Tracy, James Chagares (two albums), Jamie Hayes, Lisa Asp, Lisa Francescon, Rob Greer and Ted Linczak.

In the Event Album category: Allison English Watkins & Kris Doman, Cindy Dover, James Nisly & Genevieve Nisly (three albums), Larry Spencer, Marceliano Munoz, Mark Garber & Jennifer Gilman and Tomas Munoz.

In the Artist category: Ann Murfin, Cristie Reddehase (two albums), Emme Rigby, Michelle Parsley, Nylora-Joy Bruleigh, Peggy Sue Seehafer, Richard Sturdevant and Sandra Pearce.

Each category winner will receive a crystal award and the winner of the overall Grand Imaging Award will receive a $1000 cash prize. Last year’s winner was Chicago pet photographer Barbara Breitsameter, M.Photog.Cr., CPP, for her image “Send in the Clowns” in the General Portrait category.

To learn more about the Grand Imaging Awards, view previous winning images and watch the 2017 GIAs, visit

About PPA:
Professional Photographers of America (PPA) is the largest international non-profit association created by professional photographers, for professional photographers. Almost as long-lived as photography itself, PPA's roots date back to 1869. It assists 30,000 photographers through protection, education and resources for their continued success. See how PPA helps photographers be more at