Results 1 to 10 of 45
-
06-26-2007, 03:42 PM #1
Claim that PPA is a "degree mill"
This is really strange.
I got a couple of short emails today from someone who did not sign the emails. I do not know this person, I've had no prior email exchanges before.
Came from this address: jefforniles@gmail.com
Here's the first:
"Is this where you can buy a photo degree for a hundred bucks? I've heard about this but never actually thought it was true. Oh my God!"
My Response:
Funny....especially coming from somebody too cheap to pay for an email account. LOL
(Gmail accounts are free).
Second email from this person:
"Darn it, I spent my money on my real photography degree. You only spent $100 to be a so-called "Master of Photography. Maybe next year PPA will offer a Doctor of Photography.."
I have no idea who this person is, or what their beef is with me, or even why they think I'm a Master. (I'm still 3 merits short).
If anyone has some infomation for this clown on how difficult it is to reach Master, please email him. I haven't a clue as to who he/she is or their motivation for contacting me.Last edited by Mark_McCall; 06-26-2007 at 05:17 PM.
M. Photog., Cr. CPP
F-TPPA, F-SPPPA
Vice President, Texas Professional Photographers Assoc
Professional Photographic Certification Commission
5 Time Photographer of the Year
-
06-26-2007, 04:36 PM #2
Thank you for posting this, we have been having some issues with spammers going to personal profiles and getting e-mail addresses. We have since disabled guests being allowed to view member profiles, please be assured that PPA is taking legal action to handle this.
More information:
http://ourppa.com/forums/showthread....ghlight=poison
ThanksGregory Aide
Production Manager
-
06-26-2007, 05:18 PM #3
Matt,
My gut feeling is that it's not spam.
The guy mentioned how "small I looked in that chair".
The only photograph I know of me like that is on the www.spppa.com website where I spoke last month.
Weird.M. Photog., Cr. CPP
F-TPPA, F-SPPPA
Vice President, Texas Professional Photographers Assoc
Professional Photographic Certification Commission
5 Time Photographer of the Year
-
06-26-2007, 05:51 PM #4
It sounds like he got your information from their website. It's a shame that people like this are out there.
Gregory Aide
Production Manager
-
06-26-2007, 06:25 PM #5
-
06-26-2007, 06:49 PM #6
I'm unclear on the benefit of answering such an email. If they're looking for attention, this gives it to them. Click the trash can instead.
Mark Levesque, CPP, M. Photog., Cr. Photog, A.C. Ph., CPP Liaison, PPCC Judge
-
06-26-2007, 07:12 PM #7
Your right Mark.
I've blocked the guy from sending any more email.
I haven't a clue who the guy is, but I have his IP address.
I'm comparing it to members on a couple of forums I'm on.M. Photog., Cr. CPP
F-TPPA, F-SPPPA
Vice President, Texas Professional Photographers Assoc
Professional Photographic Certification Commission
5 Time Photographer of the Year
-
06-26-2007, 07:12 PM #8
I'd only be concerned if it was a mass marketing effort aimed at photographers who are not members to discredit PPA and discourage them from joining.
-
06-26-2007, 09:01 PM #9
We've discovered a little more about it, he is not a member of this forum, but we think that he may be an ex-member of PPA. He has been talking directly with Al Hopper, making false accusations about our education that we offer to members. The guy's name is Jeff Fuller, so if you get any junk from him just delete it.
Last edited by Gregory_Aide; 06-27-2007 at 12:22 PM.
Gregory Aide
Production Manager
-
06-26-2007, 11:51 PM #10




Reply With Quote


