Scared, but here we go!

Default Scared, but here we go!

Okay, My first attempt at posting something for Critique. I have no idea what is worthy of competition, but I guess I have to start somewhere....

Did you miss me?
    Andrea Chapelo, CPP
    www.chapelophotography.com

Andrea,

Why are you scared. There isn't a person on these forums that says anything to be mean.

I LOVE the first image. A friend of mine and his wife are expecting in June and I just added a pose to what they are going to see.

The second image on my monitor is dark. I think she is to centered also.

That is all I feel qualified to say. Keep on posting.

Cheers,

"Because Memories Are For Generations"

Andrea, as I understand it, and I am just beginning to feel worthy of entering competition, the purpose of the shadow box area is to allow you to put the main interest of your image in one of the "Rule of Thirds" intersection points (in Photoshop, open an image, go to Edit/Preferences/Guides, Grids, and Slices. Under Grid, enter 33.3 percent with one subdivision, and hit OK. Back to your image, hit CTRl + '. You now have two horizontal and two vertical lines, spaced a third apart. Place your subject in the intersection point of one of the lines. Here is my version of your placement...

Art Wright CPP, Team Recon,

AJW Photo
    Professional Digital Photography
    www.AJWPhoto.com

Default First image

Hi Andrea;

I'm going to first address the baby image. I upped the contrast using an adjustment layer and levels.

I made the image layer smaller and put her on the 4th quadrant. I used a 1 pixel stroke for an accent line. I hope this gives you some direction to go.

Default 2nd image

Hi Andrea;

Ok, here is my version of your 2nd image. One major problem was the hi-key white dress, and bow, on a low-key outdoor location and background.