Print Submissions for MES Competition
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Print Submissions for MES Competition

Sent these off today (2/23/07) -- This one got titled

"Listen! They're Home!"
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Betsy_Finn; 02-23-2007 at 07:31 PM.
    Betsy Finn, Cr.Photog., CPP
    bphotoart :: learnwithbetsy :: email

2. Default

Hi Betsy,

As you know, I am by no means an expert or very knowledgeable when it comes to competition prints, but in my humble opinion, this does not have the impact to merit. Cats are fairly common subjects and I think this image lacks punch. I think it needs more light in the face/eyes. And it looks like just about every other cat picture, so I'm not sure it will fly in competition.

Will you be going to the Mid East convention in a couple weeks?

Default pulling a D. Craig... :)

oh, Betsy, I could not resist...
    Last edited by Sue_Ellen_Tuttle; 03-03-2007 at 04:01 AM.

John, yes I will be going to Dayton. I'm not going to make it there until the evening when print judging starts -- so hopefully my prints won't be judged until the second day

(the darkness etc is mainly because of my quick web-resize...that shouldn't be really an issue in my print).

Betsy
    "Morris" "Mouserrr" "de-Mouser"
    I think your placement is excellant. Assuming this is sharp from nose to ears I do believe this is merit worthy. If you have not done so already, set your dodge tool to highlights at 12-15% and go over the cats fur especially on the shadow side. Then set the burn to shadows 4-5% and go back over the same areas. This really adds demension to the hair. Works wonders on portraits of women as well, kinda like when they go in for highlights.
    Good Luck
    Keith
    Keith A. Howe
    M.Photog.,M.Artist, Cr.,D.F.Ph.

Default Questioning Keith

[QUOTE=Keith A. Howe;60828]Betsy
    I think your placement is excellant.

Hi Keith;