Question about DVD Submissions
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Normal, Illinois
    Posts
    7,783

    Default Question about DVD Submissions

    For those who have completed accepted DVD submissions:

    How did you label the DVD itself? Full studio identification or just PPA ID?

    Did your image number encroach on the image itself, or did you format the image on the slide to leave margin for the number?
    --Elephants can swim...
    ...and very gracefully.
    Knowing that,
    I do believe
    Anything is possible for me.

    Kirk Darling, CPP

  2. #2

    Default

    Kirk,

    I certified well before PPA started the DVD submissions but I have been buring the DVD's for a few of the people here in Maryland.

    I believe the submission guidelines say the only identifying info on the DVD is to be your PPA Number.


    John Stein

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi Kirk,
    I believe I labelled the surface of the dvd , and nothing on the images. Just a simple wipe between files. I have seen a blurb from ppa on this in one of the certified lietrature, or pdf's.
    Jeff
    Jeff Dachowski M.Photog Cr.CPP A.C.ph
    PPA Approved Juror
    Upcoming events:



    Photoshop 101
    Sacramento
    San Jose
    Seattle
    Portland
    Minneapolis
    Oklahoma City
    Washington DC


    www.DachowskiPhotography.com




    Avatar by 2008 Diamond photographer of the year-Don Chick

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,208

    Default

    My DVD was labeled "PPA ID# XXXXX" -- You are NOT supposed to put any studio identifying information

    I put a number in the bottom right corner of each image (on the image). I think the alternate method you mentioned would be fine.... but on the image numbering worked for me.
    Betsy Finn, Cr.Photog., CPP
    bphotoart :: learnwithbetsy :: email

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Normal, Illinois
    Posts
    7,783

    Default More Problems

    I'm not having a fun time with ProShow Gold. I'm not happy with the fuzzy quality of the results, and I can't seem to make a disc that will run on a DVD player. They run fine on a computer, but are unreadable on a DVD player connected to a television.

    Here are my settings. What's not right?



    --Elephants can swim...
    ...and very gracefully.
    Knowing that,
    I do believe
    Anything is possible for me.

    Kirk Darling, CPP

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,208

    Default

    quick question for you kirk -- these menus look a little different than mine. what version are you using?

    Also -- I assume you're clicking "create DVD" rather than encoding as mpeg or creating an exe, right?
    Betsy Finn, Cr.Photog., CPP
    bphotoart :: learnwithbetsy :: email

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Normal, Illinois
    Posts
    7,783

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Betsy Finn View Post
    quick question for you kirk -- these menus look a little different than mine. what version are you using?

    Also -- I assume you're clicking "create DVD" rather than encoding as mpeg or creating an exe, right?
    Yes, it does look different from the screen shots you showed earlier. It's version 3.0.1897.

    Yep, Create > DVD Disc.

    Also, I started with 8x10 images at 300 dpi out of Photoshop, letting ProShow do all resizing.
    --Elephants can swim...
    ...and very gracefully.
    Knowing that,
    I do believe
    Anything is possible for me.

    Kirk Darling, CPP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,208

    Default

    ahh ok mine is ver 2.6...I can't think that it got worse since then

    when I made my show it was 8x10 @ 300dpi from PS as well.

    Ok one other thought -- what are you viewing the show on -- your TV, monitor... etc.?
    Betsy Finn, Cr.Photog., CPP
    bphotoart :: learnwithbetsy :: email

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,208

    Default

    let me elaborate on that last bit.

    If you're only editing the settings for DVD playback (e.g. TV) -- then playing it on your monitor won't look the greatest -- for that you'll need to tweak the PC Autorun settings too.
    Betsy Finn, Cr.Photog., CPP
    bphotoart :: learnwithbetsy :: email

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Normal, Illinois
    Posts
    7,783

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Betsy Finn View Post
    let me elaborate on that last bit.

    If you're only editing the settings for DVD playback (e.g. TV) -- then playing it on your monitor won't look the greatest -- for that you'll need to tweak the PC Autorun settings too.
    Well, they don't look too good on the computer monitor, but I can't get them to play at all on the DVD player connected to the television.
    --Elephants can swim...
    ...and very gracefully.
    Knowing that,
    I do believe
    Anything is possible for me.

    Kirk Darling, CPP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Live Chat is closed