Good Source for Increasing Understanding of Color Theory
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Good Source for Increasing Understanding of Color Theory

I've got a reasonable knowledge of color theory, both additive and subtractive. But, when it comes to being asked questions about the topic, I'm not too good at giving or writing an answer. (e.g. I can do it in the darkroom, but I screw up the questions when they are asked outside of the dark room, specifically when they are asked as exam questions).

I'm wondering if anyone has some good ways for clarifying this information or good resources that will discuss CMYK color theory in more depth. (Most of the online color theory discussions I've found have been about RGB....). I've got Photography 8/e by Barbara London and have already perused that....and am looking for a different resource.
    Betsy Finn, Cr.Photog., CPP
    bphotoart :: learnwithbetsy :: email

Betsy,

This topic really confused me. I did not have the time to find any other books to read on the subject before I took the exam. However, I can tell you that it was the topic I studied the most. I also reviewed my material just before the exam. As soon as the exam was handed to me, I wrote down the color wheel in the margins. It must have worked because I got all the questions right in that section.

Regards,
    Howard
    Regards,
    Howard Kier, CPP Weddings, ABI, MBA and DAD
    Magical Moments Photography

Betsy;

If you are studying for the CPP exam, I would suggest you focus on how color theory is explained in the London text. That is the most straight-forward explaination I have found.

And for the test, if you understand the color wheel, and what colors you get when you mix your primaries, and also how color theory is related to color balance (again explained best in London), you will be fine for the test.