not sure what the answers are to some questions.....

Default not sure what the answers are to some questions.....

sorry if this is posted somewhere else.. i have not posted on here much...

i am studying for cpe and i have a book and study notes from several different people ... some of the information i don't think is right.. therefore i have some random questions

for example
    when photographing a dark skinned subject, an incident meter reading taken at subject position reads f5.6 .. the correct aperture setting would be 5.6 .........
    why is this right ? incident reads the light.. so yes, it may read 5.6 but that would tell you what to set your camera on if you were photographing an 18percent gray card.. since you are photographing a dark skinned subject wouldn't you need to open up some ?

Default Re: not sure what the answers are to some questions.....

and standard color temp of daylight is 5500... correct ? one book that i read said 5000

No you would not have to open up.

You are working with an incident meter which gives you the proper exposure for the light falling on your subject. An incident meter will give you an exposure that will render a gray card as 18% gray. If the skin tone of the subject were to be a zone darker, it would render it darker, placing it in the proper tonal range. If you were to open up, you would render the darker sking tone lighter than actual.

If you had taken a reflected light reading from the dark skin, the meter would give you a reading that would reproduce the skin tone as 18% gray. In this case, assuming that the skin tone is darker than the gray card, you would have to close down a zone or two in order to render the skin tone as it actually was.
    Last edited by Rick_Massarini; 01-04-2013 at 04:19 AM.
    The best way to gain for yourself is to give OF yourself.
    - - - So get out there and volunteer for something ...

Rick Massarini, M. Photog., Cr., CPP., F-PPLA