Help total noob with critique

Default Help total noob with critique

Hello everyone, Since they extended the deadline for a few days I was hoping to get some feedback on these 3 images. These are what I was planning to submit yesterday.

1)Hoping for Charming
    2)I command you (baby image)
    3)Path to home

Thanks for any feedback, especially since this is so last minute. I wasn't going to enter until someone persuaded me last minute to enter.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: Help total noob with critique

Hello Joshua-

I see you have some very nice images that your clients will appreciate. All images have a very good quality of light for the subjects.

The young girl: Very appealing, nice soft colors.
    I am wanting to see more image on the right side of the staircase. I believe if the subject is placed dead centered, framed within the stairs, is very acceptable. Unfortunately, her head is being cut by the horizontal top stair, which is hurting the composition. Posing of her hands should be corrected, instead of curling her fingers under. I want to see more of her full length, cropping seems too tight.

Child: Nice. Good detail within the fabric.
    There seems to bee more lower space which could be cropped tighter, to keep the attention on the baby's face. Also, toning down some of the lighter fabric areas would definitely help. The face should be the brightest part. Tone down the hands slightly.
    The heavy dark space on the right side could use some slight cropping.

Family scene: very nice location as a scenic entry.
    Question: Was there a reason not to have the family walking towards the camera instead of away? Also, the family appears to be walking off the page, instead of into the scene/page. They appear to be very stiff and posed, not animated, flowing. In the future, coordinating their clothes would definitely help bring the score up.