Sealed images - next steps?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Sealed images - next steps?

I had three images earn a 'seal' at SWPPA. I am new to competition and a little unsure of the submission process and the rules from last year aren't answering some of my questions.

For SWPPA I just entered digitally. So, I don't have a physical print....I am assuming that if I would have entered an actual print that the prints that earned seals would have had some type of seal placed on it correct?? If so, how do they 'seal' digital entries?

When I submit my entries to nationals, how do they know that my prints earned that seal? I just want to make sure that I wasn't supposed to have gotten something in the mail or paperwork that I will need to submit.

Next question....I entered digitally at SWPPA....can I now enter actual prints at IPA? My first competition, you know I'll want to go take my pic standing next to my prints if they are displayed.

Default Re: Sealed images - next steps?

When you register for IPC, your record will show your images and there will be a notation by three of them that they sealed at SWPPA. You will need to confirm these three images to go on to IPC. You CAN withdraw them and substitute actual prints, but that is called "breaking the seal" and those three prints would no longer automatically get merits, they would have to go through the thumbs up/down judging for a merit. Unless you think you can make changes to the images that would improve their chances of going loan, I'd just go ahead and forward them through as digital entries to IPC so that you are guaranteed three merits. They will then go straight to the loan panel and be judged for inclusion/exclusion for the Loan Collection.

Your 4th image that did not seal can still be forwarded as is, or you may remove it from your list of images and enter a new one. Your replacement image can be either print or digital, it doesn't have to be digital just because the other three are.