What have your credentials done for you?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Smile What have your credentials done for you?

Hi all,

I am in the process of studying the Photography book with the wonderful study group started by Jackie and Betsy. As I reflect on my own reasons for wanting this certification, I find myself wondering what the benefits are aside from my own satisfaction in accomplishing this goal. With that, I pose the question to those who already have various levels of certifications through the PPA. Have you found that it made a difference in your business? Were (are) the benefits tangible and measurable or more on a personal, internal level? To be honest, in 20 years of being a photographer I have never once had anyone ask about my certifications or credentials of any kind. I don't say that to minimize the certification in any way. In fact, I desire to work my way through all of the certification levels. Basically, I am just reflecting and asking honest questions to myself and to others. Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Good day!

Mike
    Mike Larsen Studios
    Michael Larsen
    Mike Larsen Studios
    PPA Member
    www.mikelarsenstudios.com
    blog.mikelarsenstudios.com
    (207) 798-2253

Light A Candle Rather Than Cursing the Darkness!

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Larsen
    In fact, I desire to work my way through all of the certification levels.
    Hey Mike,

I'm guessing you're confusing degrees at PPA with Certification. Two different things.

Certification has been broken out as an independent body from PPA. This is on the recommendation of NOCA (National Association of Certifying Associations). The same people who oversee certifying accountants and doctors.