Earning a degree question

Hybrid View

Default Earning a degree question

Hey everyone, I am new to PPA and am studying for the exam. I have a question that I haven't found the answer to yet and maybe someone can clarify. I have just paid my dues for PPA and am looking into getting a degree.
    What I read was that I needed to be a member of PPA for two years before I can get the degree I want... M.Photog.

Here is my noobie question. Can I start earning points toward my degree now like enroling in webinars and print competitions and receive my degree in two years? Assuming I qualify. Or do I need to save my money and time on webinars and print competitions and only do them after I fulfill my two year membership?

I am anxious to get started but didn't want to go through all the time and money trying to earn points only to be told in two years that none of it mattered and I have to start over.

In summary: How long do I have to be a PPA member before I can start earning points?

Thanks in advance!
    Chris Keating

Default Re: Earning a degree question

Nevermind! I just found the answer.

When can I start earning merits towards a degree?
    A PPA member can begin earning merits immediately, but you must be a member for at least 24 months to earn a degree. PPA membership categories that qualify to earn degrees include Professional Active, Associate, Canadian, International, Life and Retired members.

Sorry for wasting everyones time.
    Humbly,
    Chris Keating

Quote Originally Posted by Chris_Keating View Post
    Nevermind!
    Sorry for wasting everyones time.
    Please don't EVER think that asking as question on this forum is wasting anyone's time. The reason most of us post on THIS forum is a desire to give something back to our profession. Answering a question from a new member is NOT a waste of our time. Welcome to the forum - and thank you for looking here for an answer !!! We're here to help you.