Information needed on comp prints

Question Information needed on comp prints

Hello all,
    Please don't laugh, I'm new to this....Ok I am wondering a few things about print competition and any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.
    1. I've only been a PPA member for a few months, can I still enter competitions? If so then are there some I cannot?

2.What do the judges look for other than the obvious, lighting, composition, good print quality, etc.

3. About print merits, how does this work exactly? I've read about them plenty but I'm still not getting it. What do you do with your print merits when they add up? Is this how you become a craftsman, or master photographer or do they help you get there?

I think that's about it. I know these questions are not the type to be in this area but I ask because the first time I went to Imaging USA I was stunned in awe when I studied the prints in the loan collection. Each and every one was soo beautiful and I remember thinking that someday mine would be there so this is something I am really interested in. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    Barb

Hi Barb,

Welcome to the PPA. I will try to answer your questions.

1. I've only been a PPA member for a few months, can I still enter competitions? If so then are there some I cannot?

Yes, as a member you can enter print competition, in order to receive merits, the prints must be sent to either the national competition or an affiliate (I believe your affiliate in Florida is Southeastern PPA). If the print receives a merit in affiliate, it must be sent to nationals in order to count toward a degree.

2.What do the judges look for other than the obvious, lighting, composition, good print quality, etc.

The judging criteria is as follows:

1. Impact
    2. Creativity
    3. Style
    4. Composition
    5. Print Presentation
    6. Color Harmony
    7. Center of Interest
    8. Lighting
    9. Subject Matter
    10 Technique
    11. Story Telling