How do you study?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How do you study?

This question goes out to all those studying for the CPP exam - or those who have passed it. How are you guys studying for the exam? What kind of methods are you using to work through the stuff you don't know very well?

Study the book! I think there are sample questions on PPA web.
    Next: realize it's a multiple choice exam - if unsure of a question, use process of elimination. I've been Certified so long that there were view camera and lots of chemistry questions, but nothing related to digital!
    I did my renewals every five years.
    George Hawkins
    Cr. Photog.

you're too funny, George! Of course I'm studying the book... My question really is to find out HOW people are studying the book. Do you just read it over and over until it sticks? How do you know what you don't know? How do you get those more difficult topics or concepts to "stick"? Any study tips that have worked for others? I started working on some flash cards, which, if nothing else, have required me to go through again with a fine tooth comb. Just curious what others are doing!

Louise_St.Romain

Personally, I take notes as I read, seems the act of writing down helps me remember better.

Just read the book. Focus on the chapters for which I've done the questions- those are the ones that were most relevant (on my exam, anyway.) Make sure you know the color wheel, color theory, equivalent exposures, lighting ratios, digital theory. It's actually fairly straightforward. If you are really concerned, you may be overthinking things. Just relax, read through the text, make sure you understand why the answers to the review questions are what they are, and you should have a solid foundation and can chime in with your own "it's not that bad" after you take the exam. Let's hope we end up with the same passing percentage as last year!
    Mark Levesque, CPP, M. Photog., Cr. Photog, A.C. Ph., CPP Liaison, PPCC Judge