PDA

View Full Version : Open for Critique

Julie_DeGuia
12-02-2007, 06:07 AM
Well, this is my first time posting one of my pictures here on "Our PPA" forum. I thought I would go right for the competition critique as that is something I would like to concentrate on this coming year.

A little about the image. There is a reflector camera right. I have cropped and processed the image and added a texture overlay to the image but erased the overlay from the subject and the sign. The texture is from a picture I took of a wall just a couple blocks away from where this image was made. I placed the image off-center but left it at the midpoint to (maybe) show a little defiance.

Title: Guilty Until Proven Innocent.

Any comments for improvement on this image would be most appreciated. I would especially like to hear opinions on whether it is even on the right level for competition... don't worry about hurting my feelings, I can take it!

Thanks,
Julie

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee161/jdgphotography/Forum%20Sharing/Marco-PrintComp.jpg

DianeDavis
12-02-2007, 07:58 AM
Hi Julie,
I'm going to let someone else critique.

I like the feel- and the edge. Way to go- putting yourself out there!

Keith_A_Howe
12-02-2007, 05:09 PM
Hi Julie I think this has potential. This is an image where Grunging works for the image. It needs to have the background taken way down so the man's face becomes the dominate impact point. Would you mind if I showed a quick version of how I see the image?
Keith

Michael_Gan
12-02-2007, 06:30 PM
I agree! Nice direction of light on the subject.

Julie_DeGuia
12-02-2007, 09:03 PM
Thanks for the replies.... Keith, I don't mind if you play with it. I am looking for ways to improve and a different view on it would be welcome!

Julie

Keith_A_Howe
12-02-2007, 09:23 PM
Julie