PDA

View Full Version : first attempt at competition

ryangibson
11-26-2007, 06:36 AM
I'm rather new to PPA but I would like to try my hand at print competitions. Attached is my first candidate for competition. Please give me some feedback as I have no idea what to expect in competition. I have attached it in color and B&W.

Thanks,
Ryan

DianeDavis
11-26-2007, 07:02 AM
Can't comment on competition- since I haven't been there yet. I do compliment you on posting and being willing to learn. Welcome.

Jack_Reznicki
11-26-2007, 01:56 PM
Wonderful shot. Looks great.

But to me the hand is way too predominate. Along with the knee. Me? I would crop into the second finger, losing the knee, and then darken the top of the hand that's left (the top finger and a half) so the face was the brightest tone.

In the end, the story is the face and the cross.

D._Craig_Flory
11-26-2007, 03:18 PM
Hi Ryan;

This is a powerful image idea. I worked it quickly & am posting how I see it being presented. I have the cross at the 3rd quadrant since it's the linch pin to the idea. I suggest a title like The Power of Faith.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i93/DC47/ThePowerOfFaith.jpg

Keith_A_Howe
11-26-2007, 03:36 PM