PDA

View Full Version : Noobie needs help

Steve_Vandegrift
10-26-2007, 08:00 AM
I am a noob looking for input. (Booth good AND BAD are greatly appreciated.)
This image was very popular with mom and all of her friends, but may or may not be a competition-worthy image. Comments please....?
And, I think the impact is good, but I don't know how name it to add to the impact of the image. Again, comments appreciated!
Thanks to all...:)

Art_Wright
10-26-2007, 08:20 AM
The bright orange jacket kills it for me. And is that your logo in the lower left?

D._Craig_Flory
10-26-2007, 12:30 PM
Hi Steve;

You wanted the good & the bad. Well, unfortunately, what I'm going to tell you is mostly bad. I see an image with the child way too big. "Kids need room to grow" in portraits. He is in the wrong position. You have no shadows on his face so it is flat instead of looking three dimensional. There is no impact and no story telling involved.

Starting with a cute child, in fall leaves, you could have easily had a merit winner. How, he asks ? If you had backed up about 8 to 10 feet. If you had the chlld being a kid and playing with the leaves ... throwing them in the air, rolling in them , or jumping into a pile of them. You would have had impact and a story to tell.

PhotogCraig
10-26-2007, 12:46 PM
I am a noob looking for input. (Booth good AND BAD are greatly appreciated.)
This image was very popular with mom and all of her friends, but may or may not be a competition-worthy image. Comments please....?
And, I think the impact is good, but I don't know how name it to add to the impact of the image. Again, comments appreciated!
Thanks to all...:)

This image should merit very well, but I am talking green merit points from family members.

And I do agree with the other Craig on many of his points, but even a close up of a child can do fine if the expression is perfect.