PDA

View Full Version : C&C Please

Nancy_Catherine_Walker
10-15-2007, 04:29 PM
I'm new to competition photography. Would these images stand a chance?

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1082/1438529689_4bbc837b24.jpg

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1307/887933957_4573f6fde9.jpg

Dave_Cisco
10-15-2007, 08:41 PM
I think they would have trouble...
Among other things, the wand(or whatever) in the 1st image gets lost in the BG, she has a pole coming out of her head, and she looks like she's standing in mud.
The 2nd image begs the question...Why? Why is she standing in the water?... in a formal dress?...holding a flower? It doesn't make sense.

Keith_A_Howe
10-15-2007, 09:46 PM
Nancy
Here is how I see them. It is a little hard to tell some details on the small files here.
The woodland fairy...
This image has very nice (short) light on the face. I see something on her cheek that I assume is some makeup design that adds to the fairy story. I like that you took her outdoors to fit the story as well. I have concerns about the background though. First the hot spot on the ground that you toned down doesn't look natural. I would like to have seen you blur the background and branches more with depth of field and focal length choices. The way it is - all those branches and tree trunks distract my eye away from the young lady (which is an excellant subject to work with). Next I would suggest that you consider using something else as the "wand" , the black roses leave a more dark depressing emotion on the viewer which is in contrast with her lovely expression.

Lady of the Lake