PDA

View Full Version : Commercial work

Terri_Nichols
09-29-2007, 01:31 AM
I've been a commercial photographer for the last 2 1/2 years, but I miss having my own studio! I have a large collection of commercial images, but I don't know how many different styles of leather jackets would be allowed in the print portion.

Because of the style my employer requires, the images are very repetitive - same basic photograph/"pose", just a different jacket or vest. (Eek!! I just realized I'm a Wa*-M**t leather photographer!! Maybe that's why I'm so bored...)

I'm getting back into portraiture, but I don't know how long that might take. Should I take the exam then worry about the image portion when I pass and hope by then things have evened out? I've done one wedding and half a dozen portraits over the last 2 years to give you an idea.

Next question -- when is there another pre-certification class on the East Coast? (Preferably in mid-Atlantic states)?

Thanks for your help

Liz_Vance
09-29-2007, 02:39 AM
I did the exam first and the prints second. I didn't know how well I'd do on the exam, and figured if I failed it, then I'd try again. But I knew, when I took the exam, that I wasn't completely ready to submit prints. And this gave me quite a while to improve before I hit the deadline.

Terri_Nichols
09-29-2007, 03:10 AM
Liz, did you already have a client base before you took the exam? I have people 'trickling' in now and then, but most from 'before' I closed my studio in 2000. Since I'm now working a full-time job, I worry that I won't have enough sessions to gather 20 images together.

Terri_Nichols
09-29-2007, 05:56 AM
"Twenty (20) photographic accomplishments are required. They must be from twenty different job assignments completed within the last 24 month’s. No two assignments entered may be of the same subject."