PDA

View Full Version : Degree ceremony

Jane_Lydick_Staid
09-14-2007, 04:38 PM
My husband is going to be my sponsor at the awards ceremony. Do all the men wear tuxedos? Or is a nice suit fine? I didnt go when I got my Masters. We had just bought a new house and I used the money for window treatments.

Dave_Cisco
09-15-2007, 12:25 AM
I think it is expected that male degree-recipients wear a Tux, but I would think a suit would be fine for a sponsor. However, I was there a long time ago...:D

andiegoodman
09-15-2007, 03:14 AM
How about a formal bathing suit. LOL He would look good in anything but a dark suit would be appropriate. We need formal but I figure anything long and black will work for us. :)

Don_Chick
09-15-2007, 03:53 AM
I don't think they will deny your degree if he's not dressed in a tux. I think it was recommended/suggested but not mandatory....

Email Marisa Pitts at PPA. She's an excellent resource and very quick to respond to any inquiry.

Marc_Benjamin
09-15-2007, 05:09 AM
I don't think they will deny your degree if he's not dressed in a tux.

I was an usher a few years back and I though I saw someone in a patterned (if not Hawaiian) shirt. I think it's really disrespectfull but I don't really think (though they should) that they will send deny you your award if your not in a tux, a suit or some form of a national formal wear.

Jeff_Dachowski
09-15-2007, 12:23 PM
I think last year Marc was dressed as a shaolin priest, so just dressed up should be all set.
Jeff

George_Hawkins
09-15-2007, 12:59 PM
Jane, husband sponsor in a suit is fine, based on my observations when I have watched the ceremonies.

A great bunch of degree/award recipients from New Hampshire!
What should the gallery cheering squad wear?
I don't remember any gallery from NH when I received degree; it was in Atlantic City and few traveled! Strange that more will travel to Tampa!

George

Jane_Lydick_Staid
09-16-2007, 02:57 AM