PDA

View Full Version : How to Get to the Next Level...

Sherry_Piche
08-13-2007, 05:03 AM
Hello to everyone!

New to posting, but 3rd year in getting a PPA Merited General collection print to hang. What could I have done differently to make this into the GB or Loan?

I have been watching the forum for several years but a bit shy to post and have learned so much from so many wonderful artists.

Thank you so much for your insight.

Sherry Piche

Sherry_Piche
08-13-2007, 05:05 AM
Opps, forgot to send image...

Sherry_Piche
08-13-2007, 05:11 AM
Sorry... newby error... here it is..

S

Stacey_West
08-13-2007, 06:02 AM
"How do I get to the next level?" This is my question too!

This is a very nice image and I can see how it merited. Did you get a critique? If so were there any hints on the critique for improvement?

I have had one single portrait merit so I'm no expert but I wonder if the title could have been something with more impact? I don't know if this would have taken it up even to the GB but it might have helped.

Thanks for sharing. Don't be "shy" about posting.

Marc_Benjamin
08-13-2007, 10:30 AM
Hi Sherry,

I think the key to Loan is uniqueness. An image that is well executed in accordance to the 12 elements will get you the merit and a real unique one will push it.

Stewart_Schulze
08-13-2007, 04:52 PM
Marc is correct it is uniqueness is key second is IMPACT!!!!!!!!
The best thing is to buy the GB and loan books and study them and just keep streching your photography.

Don_Chick
08-13-2007, 08:34 PM
To get into the showcase book you had to have a judge desire your image to go "loan" but not have enough members of the panel in agreement for the image to actually make it to "loan". Once the image didn't make "loan" the juror could use one of their tokens to have the image placed in the showcase book. I hope that made sense.