PDA

View Full Version : 1st Competition & Late Entry -- Advise Please

DiannaAllen
06-18-2007, 04:25 PM
Hello All, I'm new to the forum and my studio has only been open since 11/05. So I guess techniquely I'm still a rookie. I am considering entering a few prints but would appreciate your feedback first. I have 4 versions of this image. 2 are attached now. I'll attach one other one and the original does not include the ghosted background image.

Thanks
Dianna

DiannaAllen
06-18-2007, 04:30 PM
Shall We was an image I capturing during a prom promotional this year.

D._Craig_Flory
06-18-2007, 05:17 PM
Hi Diana;

I like the 3rd one posted of the couple since the ghost image is diagonal from the main image. It seems to have very muddy tones ... is there a lot more contrast on the high res file ? You need to make the accent line smaller and with a slightly deeper tone. It is too much now and grabs my eyes. I like the concept a lot.

On the heart shape couple ... also looks muddy. Part of her far eye is visable. You will get nailed, on a profile, for having anything of the far eye showing. It is difficult to tell - is she pulling on a shirt or vest or tie ? I hope the judges will be able to tell easily. This one is the opposite of the 1st one. You need an accent line around the heart is a tone just bright enough to set it off.

On the scenic ... what is the center of interest ?

With the bride - once again it looks muddy. The subject layer is in a good position except I would flip the subject layer so she is facing into the middle instead of out the right side. And you need a grey accent line around the subject layer.

Good luck

DiannaAllen
06-18-2007, 05:58 PM
What is best way to size images for posting here? I see that they are definitely not good quality the way I did it.