PDA

View Full Version : Mounting and Presenting

Timothy_Mielke
05-24-2007, 01:48 PM
What the guidelines for mounting? I know the pics need a two color stroke, but how wide should they be? Should I mount prints directly on mount board with strokes on the actual prints done in photoshop? This is my first time submitting and I am kinda of nervous...

TimMilk

Don_Chick
05-24-2007, 01:56 PM
Timothy,

There are no requirements for any stroke. That's up to your personal preference. Strokes today are usually done in PS. In the old days they did them with tape from the automotive supply store.
If you are using a professional lab (and one that has printed for a PPA competition before), they should have mount board that will meet the requirements. My lab uses a quad weight art board for mounting.
If you have a dark print be sure and use a Sharpie to blacken the edges of the print. You don't want the white edge showing up against a dark/black edge. And if/when you are using the Sharpie, be sure and do it from the back side. That way if you slip you will have the mistake on the back not the front!

D._Craig_Flory
05-24-2007, 01:58 PM
Hi Timothy;

Wherever did you get the "two color stroke" thing ? One color is the norm and sometimes it's a shade of grey. As for width, generally go with the most narrow size possible while still being able to see it at 6 feet. In Photoshop, not only look at in in "fit on screen". Also look in "actual print size". I generally use between 3 & 6 pixels.

You do your entire presentation on a 20" X 16" or 16" X 20" background layer in Photoshop and that gets mounted on a board. I use black-core gatorfoam.

I've attached my lesson on doing Step-Mounts. Please let me know if you don't have a copy of the dirty dozen rules of print competition.

Jacob_Chinn
05-24-2007, 04:31 PM