PDA

View Full Version : What's up with ProSho Gold?



KirkDarling
02-03-2007, 04:23 PM
When the slideshow autoruns under ProShow's own installer, the images are crisp. When I run the slideshow under Microsoft Media Player, they're horrible.

However, a slideshow I create under the limited Nero slide show creator that came with the drive doesn't have its own autorun installer--it must be run by Microsoft Media Player--is crisper in that circumstance than ProShow Gold.

What's disquieting to me about this is that I don't know whether the judges simply autorun the slideshow via whatever installer is on the disc, or whether they use a particular media player (which may be Microsoft or may be something else they prefer).

I've tried changing the pixel and screen size parameters in ProShow Gold without success in improving the appearance of the slideshow, but no joy.

Marc_Benjamin
02-03-2007, 06:56 PM
Hey Kirk,

That along w/ the sometimes lag is why I very rarely do the .exe autorun CD/DVD deal or make an .mpg file.

For submissions no for everything in general (unless you want it to expire), a standalone DVD playable DVD is better.

KirkDarling
02-03-2007, 08:44 PM
Marc,

My issue, though, is that ProShow's autorun feature shows the images significantly sharper than they appear through any other video applications.

I've tried both Microsoft Media Player (with the Sonic DVD codec) and WinDVD. Neither of them can display the ProShow slideshow as sharply as ProShow displays its own autorun.

Marc_Benjamin
02-03-2007, 09:00 PM
Ah, I see... I wonder if the autorun is uncompressed vs. ya know the avi or mpeg2. Have you checked the file sizes.

Hmmm, another reason to buy Proshow! Sharper images using the proprietary .exe render!

Jamie_Weiss
02-17-2007, 06:32 PM
I never had a problem with this before the recent upgrade, but now I have a bunch of images that will look blurry or out of focus in the slideshow, but in reality, they are not. I send a request for help to Photodex today. Maybe I'll hear something soon. Please let me know if any of you come up with any solutions!

Jamie

Michael_Gan
02-17-2007, 07:11 PM
I've got a weird thing happening on my copy of 3.0 - the thumbnails disappear when I click on the folder of images. What's up with that?

PhotogCraig
02-17-2007, 09:08 PM
Too many problems with 3.0 I went back to version 2.6 producer, I can only assume that gold has had it's issues also.

The funny thing is, they don't seem to care about fixing the problems, I have been on the phone twice, and pretty much felt very dissatisfied with their concern about fixing the problems that I reported.

I reported several problems the first day it was released, then got back with them a week later, and even now it's been a couple months, they have not resolved anything because I tried the upgrade again, downloading what they are giving as their download right now, and the problems are still there.

Will_Price
02-17-2007, 09:47 PM
You have saved it as a wav show or an mpeg or avi. You need to save it only as a dvd proshow show. The same thing happened to me. My show was still in the system so I re burned it as a proshow dvd and it is sharp now.

KirkDarling
02-17-2007, 10:33 PM
You have saved it as a wav show or an mpeg or avi. You need to save it only as a dvd proshow show. The same thing happened to me. My show was still in the system so I re burned it as a proshow dvd and it is sharp now.

Who are you responding to, Will?

I know that if you run the show under the ProShow installer, it's sharp. My issue with it is that it should be as sharp when run under any other DVD player.

Will_Price
02-18-2007, 02:06 AM
Oh, I dunno then. Have you saved the show at the highest quality level? That may make a difference.

Valerie_Harte
02-18-2007, 09:02 PM
Too many problems with 3.0 I went back to version 2.6 producer, I can only assume that gold has had it's issues also.

The funny thing is, they don't seem to care about fixing the problems, I have been on the phone twice, and pretty much felt very dissatisfied with their concern about fixing the problems that I reported.

I reported several problems the first day it was released, then got back with them a week later, and even now it's been a couple months, they have not resolved anything because I tried the upgrade again, downloading what they are giving as their download right now, and the problems are still there.

Oh NO!! This will teach me to not read the forums first. I just downloaded Producer 3.0 at thier recommendation so I didn't need to carry the stupid key around with me to use it on the laptop. What are the problems?