PDA

View Full Version : Images for comp

MarieLeslie
02-01-2007, 04:12 AM
State print competition is coming up. I can enter five, so I'd appreciate any feedback. Title suggestions are always welcome. I swear it is the hardest part of print comp--and I'm a writer, too. Ack.

MarieLeslie
02-01-2007, 04:14 AM
more images

MarieLeslie
02-01-2007, 04:14 AM
and a couple more

MarieLeslie
02-01-2007, 04:15 AM
last one, I promise.

D._Craig_Flory
02-01-2007, 01:44 PM
Hi Marie;

When I want titles I surround myself with the following: TV Guide (movie and TV show titles work often), Dictionary, Top 40 Hits from 1955 to 1985 (song titles are great !) plus I have a set of 15 books I bought from a Master, Craftsman many years ago and I get great ideas from those and the PPA Loan Books. I used to also have lunch with an area photographer and we would bounce title ideas off each other.

Ok, image #1 ..."Precious" #2 ..."Waiting For Spring" #3 ..."Natures Power" #4 ..."Old West Revisited" #5 ..."Alternative Transportation #6 ..."So in Love #7 Beauty in Hiding .

Those were very quick. I recommend keeing small versions with you and when inspiration hits you ... write it down. I'm attaching what I carried with me last year so I could write down ideas as they came. Maybe you can make up something similar. Good luck !

Keith_A_Howe
02-01-2007, 05:10 PM
MarieLeslie
Ice Flower, ice blossom, blooming ice.
I hope you don't mind I did a quick change to your ice image. I simply dodged the high lights of the bloom and a bit on the ice. Then I burned the shaddows a bit to make it richer and more 3d like. I like this image and the lightning image the best. Touched by god. bolted, struck down, titles are not my strong suit. Good Luck Keith

MarieLeslie
02-02-2007, 11:33 PM
Thanks for the feedback. It's been a busy couple of days--photographing eye doctors and race cars. My business is definitely getting diverse.