PDA

View Full Version : First Competition!

Nate_Weatherly
10-19-2006, 06:10 PM
Hi all,

I'm just getting started and joined my local affiliate (Triangle Association in PA/Ohio/WV). I joined this morning and found out that their fall meeting is next Sunday-Tuesday! I'd like to enter several images in the competition, but I need some help deciding what to enter. I've narrowed it down to some recent favorites. You can see them here (http://www.nateweatherly.com/competition)

I need to narrow these down to 3-4 to enter. Categories are just portrait, salon, commercial/industrial, and digital imaging.

So, do any of these have merit? (bad pun intended) Which are your favorites? What would you change?

Also, if anyone has any examples of how they often lay out images on the 16x20 print I'd be appreciative.

I know this is asking for a lot, but I need to send these to my lab on friday or saturday at the latest!!!

Thank you so much!

nate

p.s. in case you missed it above, here's the link again: Potential Competion Images (http://www.nateweatherly.com/competition)

Heidi_Theriault
10-19-2006, 06:29 PM
Nate,

My favorites for competition are 1, 5, 8, 9, 10, & 20.

Overall, I like them all. I have some issues with a few (like the big-foot family portrait :D ) but I really like your style.

Portraits are difficult for competition because it's hard to stand out. Also, judges are picky on portraits for competition when they are more than magnificant for everyday portraits! Be careful and don't let yourself get disappointed by competition scores. Photographing for competition can be entirely seperate from photographing for yourself or your client.

Mark_Levesque
10-19-2006, 06:50 PM
You've got some good ones in there, Nate. 2, 5, 8, 9, 19, and 23 jump out at me as being worth further study/competition presentation.

Keith_A_Howe
10-19-2006, 09:29 PM
Nate ... awesome!!!