PDA

View Full Version : Opinions Please

MichaelImus
09-05-2006, 05:23 PM
I would be very grateful for some opinions on this portrait.

I was thinking of entering this into a local print competition, but I have never used the painter before, and I am worried it isn't what the judges will be looking for. I really like the texture of the picture and how delicate it turned out, but I am not sure if that is what is popular right now.

I would love some professional opinions about this portrait, and what I could do to improve it. Please, be honest, it seems the only people we photographers can trust is each other.

Thank you!

Robin_Arkenberg
09-05-2006, 06:32 PM
Hello Michael,

The composition to me is very nice. It may be the web rendition of your print, but the lighting seems have a bit too much contrast. The girl's arm appears chopped off at the shoulder and I would like to see some more detail on the rest of her arm and her face. I like the position of the bouquet, however, it appears to be floating in mid air.

Robin

MichaelImus
09-05-2006, 07:54 PM
Robin,

Thanks for the info. I will work on the changes. It helps to have someone else pull you "out" of the picture and look at it as it needs to be. :)

keithpix
09-06-2006, 12:48 AM
As a judge I would advise you to give more detail in the shadow area.

I also agree that the arm is lost in the unexposed, unlight area which takes my eye out of the center of interest which is the beautiful subject matter. :)

Keith_A_Howe
09-06-2006, 01:41 AM
Michael