PDA

View Full Version : Help with IPC

ctruesdell
06-19-2012, 11:02 PM
This is my first year to enter the IPC. What do you think of these choices? Also what do you think about the digital matting? Thank you for your time.

Cherie

J_Davidson
06-20-2012, 07:22 PM
Red haired girl with mom's belly: I think this would score in the mid 70's. The clothing is quite hot, the little girl is flat lit, and the back of her hand is facing the camera. In addition mom's arm is just hanging down in the background. It doesn't "speak" to me, or tell me a story. With regard to the matting the stroke is very thick, and obtrusive

Mom kissing baby: I think I would prefer to see this flipped, and cropped in a little tighter. Dad's head is blocking my eye from traveling through the image. I would probably also reccomend to remove the flyaway hairs on mom. Mat placement is workable for this crop. However if you tighten it up, I would reccomend keeping mat placement on the top side of your mat. What are you titling this image? It will need a strong title to aid it. I think with the right title, and post work this could potentially earn a merit.

Baby in the cart: There's a lot going on in this image, that is pulling focus away from the baby itself. If you've added a lot of this in post, I would go back and simplify as much as possible. It appears as though the image is soft viewing it on here, but that could be from compression during upload. I think this would score in the mid/low 70's.

Baby on Barrel: Another situation where you need a very strong title. Children are tough to merit with, and they have to be exceptional. While this is a fantastic client image, I don't think it would score high enough to merit due to impact. My guess is it would be a mid/low 70's image

I hope this helps a bit. Also, my opinions are just that. Please apply what works best for you.

ctruesdell
06-20-2012, 10:01 PM