PDA

View Full Version : First year, so HELP!

Alex_Grace
04-26-2012, 08:32 PM
This is my first year as a Professional Photographer and a PPA Member, but I'm really interested in entering the competition!

I've attached one of the images I'm thinking about entering, and I was hoping to get some feedback. How do you think this would score, and what can I do to make it better?

Thanks,
Alex

antiuze
05-02-2012, 06:52 AM
Hi Alex... I'm no master. But I would love to hear what other, more qualified members think of your image. First... I really like the concept... a lot. Sure she loved it. But for comp.... I don't know. Fingers on the bottom are cropped. I would like to see the whole jersey number. Obviously her left hand is pointing straight at the camera. That IS the point. But IMO, doesn't this create problems? Foreshortening, and a big 'ol hand out of focus? I hope others will comment more.

Alex_Grace
05-03-2012, 07:56 PM
You make some great points... Back to "Ye Olde" Drawing Board!

Gary_Hughes
06-14-2012, 03:21 PM
Do you have another from this sequence where she isn't pointing? It's a strong image and you should definitely get it in front of some judges for critique. Are you a member of a local PPA affiliate? Their competitions are a great way to get personal critiques from qualified judges that will help you pick out a case for the IPC. Best of luck and congrats on your courage and your work. Very nice especially considering it's only been a year!

Rick_Massarini
06-15-2012, 01:36 AM
I held off on posting a comment for a while to give some others a chance to chime in, but since no one else except Bari has commented, here is what I see...