PDA

View Full Version : SEPPA Judging Question

erinclemmer
04-01-2012, 12:25 AM
Hello, this is my first time ever posting anything to a message board so I hope I am doing this correctly. I submitted images for the MA category at SEPPA and went to view the judging. 3 of my images received 78, and 1 a 77. Because there was no disagreement there was no discussion among the judges so I am not certain as to what about each submission was keeping it from scoring 80 or higher. Is it alright, or would it be bad form, to contact the judges via email, introduce myself and ask the to give me feedback? There were literally only a handful of people watching the judging so I feel that if I tell them I was there watching and want to learn how to improve my work that they would be happy to give me some guidance. Am I right or should I try to get help another way.

Rick_Massarini
04-01-2012, 04:04 AM
Instead of using email, why don't you try to catch one of the judges in the print exhibit area after they hang the prints and ask them to help you by giving you a critique on your prints?

erinclemmer
04-01-2012, 01:41 PM
I am not there today. I only attended a couple of days to watch the judging. This my first competition and I really want to know what to do to improve the images.

erinclemmer
04-01-2012, 03:12 PM
As I mentioned earlier, my prints received 78s (3 of them) and a 77. What scores will hang? I am about 2 hours drive away, so technically I could go tomorrow to see what is hanging and perhaps find a judge. Do images that score 78 or so typically get reworked or do people often just send them on to IPC as is. In my case I have no clue what is keeping them from a merit at this point so I still want to talk to the judges. Help!

Mark_Turner
04-01-2012, 04:37 PM
You will have no problem finding a judge to talk to you if you come. They are hanging now, and will be up through tomorrow's trade show hours.

erinclemmer
04-01-2012, 05:07 PM
So they hang the 78s? I still don't know.