PDA

View Full Version : New to Competition

Julie_Seagreaves
03-05-2012, 11:49 PM
HI everyone!
This is my first attempt at a competition and I would love some feedback on 2 of my images. Not sure of the titles either. I was thinking "Little Blessing" for the little girl and possibly "Soulful Stare" for the dog image.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Julie

mbalthaser
03-07-2012, 05:56 PM
Hi Julie! Congrats on getting ready to start competition - it's a lot of fun!

I hope this doesn't come across harsh, but I want to be honest and try to help you. I don't think that the image on the left would be well suited for competition. It looks more like a snapshot to me.

I'm not much of an animal person, so I don't tend to study many images on the subject, but the one you posted here looks a little soft - especially in the eyes. I had some problems with my images looking soft on upload here as well - so you'll have to check the original file to know for sure.

I hope that helps!

Julie_Seagreaves
03-07-2012, 11:42 PM
Ouch! I guess this is the way I learn!! I really do appreciate any feedback...it's all part of the process. Thanks Melissa. :)

mbalthaser
03-08-2012, 01:35 AM
Oh, I really hope I wasn't too harsh, Julie! I am quite new to this myself - only entering competition for the second time this year. Maybe someone else with more experience will chime in.

Don't be discouraged, and best of luck to you!

Rick_Massarini
03-08-2012, 03:08 AM
I have to agree with Melissa - the first image has too much of a snapshot look for a competition image. The lighting is relatively flat, the composition is dead center, the background items are tilted and there is a distracting hot spot in the lower left hand corner. I believe that this image, as presented, would fall in the Average category. Recropping the image could possibly raise the image in to the Above Average category.