PDA

View Full Version : Brand spanking new...

tracypage
05-02-2011, 01:31 AM
Not to photography but to competition and this forum. I am a portrait painter turned portrait photographer and I specialize in talent headshots.

I would love to find a mentor if anyone out there is willing, please let me know. I'd like to work toward my certification with PPA and competition is awe inspiring and the idea of being judged is down right scary -- although I am by agents/clients every day so I don't know why this is scaring me so much. Perhaps it is the unknown.

I'm not even sure where to start. I'm posting a fairly raw image of an Atlanta sports personality and legend that I've taken in the last week so you can see where I'm starting from. The only editing I've done here is some slight color adjustment and removal of some stray facial hair.

If you would give me some starting points, I'd really appreciate it. I've got a lot of the pretty senior girl in country setting and swaddling baby newborn as well as very intimate bride and groom or children running on the beach -- but this image is really more who I am.

Thanks much!
-tracy
www.babycakestudios.com

DianeDavis
05-02-2011, 02:39 AM
Welcome Katherine-
I'm excited to see what the big guns (Keith?) say and I'm excited you are here. This is a great place to grow.

Heather_L._Smith
05-02-2011, 04:54 AM
Welcome to the forum, Tracy! And welcome to print competition! Have you ever seen print competition before? What do you know about it, and what are your goals for competition? Meaning, do you want to take the top prizes and fMe and fortune (hahaha!), do you just want to get your feet wet, do you just want to not embarrass yourself? Knowing what you'd like to achieve certainly will help direct the comments in the most constructive way.