PDA

View Full Version : new to competition - seeking critique

mdeppe
04-02-2011, 08:01 PM
Hi,

I entered 4 images in the SEPPA district competition for the first time this year. I'd love to get any feedback about my images to improve them (or replace them) for the international competition coming up. I've got thick skin - would love to learn from those who are experienced.

thank you!

www.megandeppe.com/blog/ppa

DianeDavis
04-02-2011, 09:04 PM
I'm looking forward to what they have to say, too. Love the bunny on the floor.

GregYager
04-02-2011, 09:30 PM
Welcome to the forums Megan and my hat's off to you for entering at SEPPA!

I could critique your images but I'm very new to competition as well so I'm going to leave it to those more qualified. There are some incredible photographers here that can give you excellent advice on what to do in order to bring your scores up so take heed when they give you their 2 cents worth. You'll be glad you did.

Rick_Massarini
04-03-2011, 01:35 AM
My first impression on viewing the images is that the keyline around each of the images is somewhat distracting. It is doing the exact opposite of what a keyline is supposed to do. A keyline is supposed to direct your eye to the most important part of the image. In all four of the images, the keyline is keyed to a background element instead of a subject element.

In the first image, the blue of the keyline directs your eye towards the blue flowers and the brightest points in the image are the white shirt and socks which attract the most attention. The white spots of the shirt and socks pull your eye as do the blue flowers since the keyline directs your eye there - so you have problems getting into the subject's face.