PDA

View Full Version : Critique Please

heritage
03-29-2011, 09:22 PM
...that is assuming I am understanding this right. I am in Ohio (Northeast) which means I have until April 7 (if I'm really pushing it) to get my images submitted. If I am wrong about that...somebody please let me know. I am a little confused about the different districts/states and how they work together.

Anyway, here is an image I am considering. I've done some basic retouching but I am fairly new to this comp. thing and wanted some advice before working too much on it.

I was also considering a closer crop--any thoughts on that? Also, there is one hair going across her eye. I know I'll have to get rid of that before submitting.

I was thinking of something like "Tell Me What You Really Think" for a title...but definitely open for suggestions there too.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to do this.

http://www.amylynphotography.com/wedding-photos/2011/03/Comp011.jpg

GregYager
03-29-2011, 09:37 PM
You might want to re-size it a bit smaller for posting on here. Usually around 800 pixels wide works good.

Did you shoot this in natural light or mixed light?

heritage
03-29-2011, 09:50 PM
I linked instead...hopefully that fixes sizing issue. Thanks.

Natural light

rkord4
03-30-2011, 02:19 AM
That's a good image. Her eyes are beautiful and the expression is okay BUT I'm not sure that this image really grabs me. And for competition prints, they really need to have that WOW factor. Maybe if there was something else in the image to give a story.

It almost seems too orange on the left side. Did you have natural light on the right side and incadescent light on the left? I know there are some exceptions to this type of lighting but not sure if it's right for competition.
Maybe use a silver reflector next time to get a more even light.

I like the open space on the right. Other than that, I don't have any more critques.

Hope you don't mind my candor?

Keith_A_Howe
03-30-2011, 04:30 AM