PDA

View Full Version : Fist time submitting

IanM316
02-02-2011, 07:45 PM
I want to submit to the PPA competition. but I am not sure if my work is heading in the right direction for print merits. I am aiming at seniors for guys and rather than just getting the usual portraits I wanted to aim for the rugged, action type portraits that might appeal to guys.

I am wondering if these images would be considered for merit. I am totally new to the PPA and still finding my feet.
C And C always welcome.

Joe_Galioto
02-02-2011, 08:04 PM
ian
you see images like these do well in competition
but keep in mind all the fancy post production doesn't fool the judges
the basic image still has to stand on it's own
in the 1st one the eyes seem too dark
in the 2nd - the way both arms are cropped will kill it
there's many threads here on competition prints, do a serch
also consider buying the loan & general collection books
they print them every year
the books will inspirer you and show you examples of excepted images

moehler
02-02-2011, 08:14 PM
I really like the second one, but I question the lens flare the way it is and it has an unfortunate cropping on the raised arm. I not a judge, but these seems like it would have a pretty good impact with the judges. Just my 2¢.

GregYager
02-03-2011, 12:17 AM
Both images would appeal to a senior but that's not what you're asking. You're asking how they will do in competition. I'm very new to the world of competition but I've entered a few and I get critiques on my work whenever I can so take this for what it's worth....