PDA

View Full Version : ASP Fellowsip

Joe_Campanellie
08-26-2009, 04:13 PM
Sorry for the long post...but Monday was an absolutely...incredible day...! Something very special happened. Something that I have been working on for the past ten months and with the help of God and some very special friends I have accomplished.

I could not have done this without the help of such people like Pat Hansen, Rich and Esther Beitzel, Don and Nancy Emmerich, Bob Golding, Doran Wilson, Jim Chagares, Randy McNeily who was the first person to encourage me to do this, Joyce Wilson who gave me the inspiration for my thesis, and of course my wife who has always been there as a constant source of support through this project and who has always believed I could do this.

Several years ago after one of our annual print judgings a couple of the judges approached me and encouraged me to apply for my Fellowship with the American Society of Photographers (ASP). For those of you who are not familiar with ASP you are invited to join this organization after you have received either your Craftsman or Master's Degree from PPA.

Well...I kind of laughed it off. This is the highest degree and honor that ASP can bestow on one of it's members. The list of recipients reads like a who's who in photography. Such names as Joyce Wilson, Monte Zucker, Don Blair, Joseph Simone, Tim Kelly, and Phillip Charis. All giants of the industry. To this date there have been only some 101 recipients of the Fellowship worldwide. So...for me to even consider that I was worthy of such an honor was well...just a little ridiculous sounding.

But...my wife and some very well meaning friends kept at me for the next several years. They watched as my passion was re-born in the form of my wildlife photography and felt I was ready for this life challenge.