PDA

View Full Version : Critique for Comp, Per Favore

Stephanie_Millner
07-25-2009, 04:20 AM
*Sigh*...

Home alone on a Friday Night while my husband is playing Poker with his buddies. Was bored, and didn't feel like doing any work tonight so I figured I'd start preemptively picking next year's competition prints.

Can I get some input on this one? I'm particularly concerned with the amount of Impact (if any). Also, how do we feel about the front mug? And the specular highlights - too bright?

Thinking about using the title: "Health-code Violation"

BTW - yes, this is a client image. Apparently I'm in the vermin business now! LOL! (Actually, I love this little guy. He made fast friends with my dog, and is the sweetest little rat you could ever meet.)

http://www.stephaniemillner.net/blogimages/rat_in_glass.jpg

TracyeGibson
07-25-2009, 12:42 PM
Haaaa! I am new at print comp so I am not one to give comp print critiques but this one made me laugh, especially after reading the post!

Ron_Jackson
07-25-2009, 01:16 PM
I am definitely not the one for comp critique but the first thing I thought, was it needed to be flipped. I also felt it would be stronger cropping off some of the empty space on either end. So I took the image and did that to see how it felt. I hope you don't mind. Here was my quick result of my thoughts. I really like the concept and the look on this little guy's face. Good job!

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l293/voodoomagic_2006/rat_in_glassR.jpg

Ron_Jackson
07-25-2009, 05:58 PM
Okay so I flipped it again and he came out of the glass. "Hang On!!"

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l293/voodoomagic_2006/rat_in_glassRU.jpg

Karen_Linsley
07-25-2009, 06:16 PM
OMG! Ron, you are too funny! Thanks for the laugh!