PDA

View Full Version : Need help beginning competitions

treasures1
12-07-2008, 06:49 AM
Hi! I've been a PPA member for about 6 months, and a pro photog fr about a year. - I sold stock for a couple years before. I live too far from my local affiliate to attend their monthly print comps and they don't offer a digital send in option. Should I forgo the local/ state comps and just start competing on the national level? I am studying for the certification exam, but probably won't take it until I'm an "ACTIVE" . I don't have any competition experience, and am hoping for some direction. All the merit programs and etc. are so confusing. Like all the different merit subdivisions. I'm afraid I won't even know how to classify my own image for competition. I'm sure all this becomes cleare the more I am involved, but I am overwhelmed right now. Please give me an idea of how to start the competion/ merit program. Thanks!
:o
Kesha Norman, Treasures Photography

Michael_Gan
12-07-2008, 06:04 PM
Hi Kesha,

Here is a great (but rather long) thread regarding going after the Masters degree from PPA. http://www.ppa.com/community/forums/showthread.php?t=121

This forum is a great place for learning the ins and outs of print competition. Including help for you to improve your images. There are various ways to post your images securely on this forum for critique and comments (CC's) since there are many Master Photographers, National judges, and Certified Photographers on this forum. This has helped many who have been just as remote as you.

You can still enter on the regional level which happens about once a year. Also, if you are a member of your state association, you can enter there as well. You can attend both judgings to see how your images do in comparison to your peers, and this is a good thing.

The merits you will be concerned about will be the Exhibition merits. These are the ones that you will need to attain your Masters. All the other ones are "Service" and "Speaking".