PDA

View Full Version : Is this a possiblility for Competition?

Angela_Lawson
11-24-2008, 08:03 PM
I would like some input on this image for competition. Thinking of entering it in Mid-East Regionals. Would like any and all CC - Good and bad?

Would I be embarrassed to enter it? Of course I'd love to score an 80 or above, but don't really expect to on my first time out, so if it would at least score in the high 70's, I'd be happy.

Thanks.
Angela

Possible Titles?
Dreaming of Tomorrow
Mommy's little girl

Anyone else?

Ashley_Short
11-24-2008, 09:47 PM
Angela,

I'm no expert, but I would think that it could be improved by having the album in the same key. My eye goes back and forth from her face, the album, and even the photo in the album. Not sure where to stop looking.

I love the idea... if you could find a name that plays off of "the day every little girl dreams about.."

Hope someone else chimes in. :)

Ashley

Rick_Massarini
11-25-2008, 01:45 AM
I like the lighting on the girl's face and the overall feeling of this image, but that brown book just grabs my eye and I have a very hard time getting off the book and back into the little girl's face, It's too bad that their parents didn't have a white book. That one out of key item in the image, considering that it is prety much a central element to the story, is going to keep the score down. I don't believe that you would be embarrassed by entering the image and believe that it will score in the mid seventies, but with that brown book, I don't think that it will go into the merit category.

D._Craig_Flory
11-25-2008, 02:00 PM
Hi Angela;

I agree with the assessment that the out of key album will draw down the score. Now, if you want to take the time, you COULD make it a white album:

Make a dupe layer. Then Image > Adjustments > Invert. Add a layer mask in Hide All and paint in the white using a white brush. Enlarge quite a bit as you get near the edges.

Let me know if you try it and need some help.