PDA

View Full Version : certification

sulemaorr
09-13-2008, 05:19 AM
I live in Texas. Where is the test administered here? I am also a new PPA member.:)

D._Craig_Flory
09-13-2008, 12:46 PM
Hi;

The way you have your avatar, I'm not sure which is your first name and which is your last.

The liaison for Texas is Les Lopez. His e-mail is lopezles@sbcglobal.net
Write and ask him where he gives it and when.

Julie44Johnston
09-27-2008, 04:16 PM
I never really thought about taking the cert. exam as I am pretty much self taught and doubt I could pass it. However, I would like to try. I am in Iowa, relatively new to PPA and don't know how to go about doing it. Is there any way to study for it?

D._Craig_Flory
09-28-2008, 12:06 AM
Hi Julie;

There are a number of things I'd like to tell you. I don't know how much you know about the process. There are two parts ... the exam as well as submitting 20 8X10's that represent all the professional photography you do.

For exam study: The recommended book is "Photography" by London & Upton. There are also older threads, on here under certification, where questions were asked and then other threads where the answers are given. As a liaison, when I'm asked at our state meetings I suggest finding someone else who wants to take it that wants to study together.

You list that you are "on a farm" which could be anywhere. Considering that my town is surrounded on all sides by farms here in south central Pa., I recommend contacting the liaison for your state. Ask where and when he or she gives the exam. Let me know if you don't know how to find out who that is.

Al_Audleman
09-28-2008, 03:32 PM
Julie,