PDA

View Full Version : Some CPP questions...

Kari_Douma
09-03-2008, 04:48 PM
I am new to PPA, and I have made it a goal to get my masters and CPP. So, I am wondering how fast I should try to do this. I am going to Imaging, and I am wondering if I should take the exam there. I am considering the pre convention class that is offered to help prepare for it.

Let me give you a little background...
I bought my first SLR camera 7 years ago, knowing nothing. The first two years were spent learning the basics of Photography. The next two years were spent trying to get a business going, and learning digital. The next 3 years were spent trying to fine tune everyting and take every area of my photography to the next level. (That is a constant goal of mine... there is ALWAYS room to grow.)

I am very good with technical details, however I have not had any formal training. Everything I have learned has been self taught, mostly from the internet, some books, and I have gone to workshops. I joined my local and state PPA affiliate groups to learn.

So, when I look at taking the CPP test, I am worried about a couple things. I did not use film very much, so I don't know a lot of the things about film or film filters, or Medium or Large format. Because I am mostly self taught, some of the lighting terminology doesn't register with me. I know how to get the results I want to get, but things like "rembrant, broad, short, ect..." I will need to study more.

I just ordered "Photography" by London and Upton to study.

So, back to my original question...
Being that this is my first year in PPA, should I just go and enjoy the convention? Or, should I try to study between now and then, and take the test while I am there? Any thoughts?

BTW, I have started earning my Merits already...

Cassandra_Sullivan
09-03-2008, 04:58 PM