PDA

View Full Version : Worth it?

David_Dierlam
07-26-2008, 12:28 AM
Do customers care whether people are certified? I doubt any of my customers here have ever heard of PPA, so letting them know you're certified gets you a "yea, whatever" response. The general public knows so little about these things certification is meaningless.

David_Dierlam
07-26-2008, 12:34 AM
I've been a pro for 13 yrs now and when I worked for a school picture company, I had considered joining PPA in hoping this might mean more money in my check. Unfortunately they could care less. As long as customers bought pictures, they were happy. OK-i'm done.

Liz_Vance
07-26-2008, 12:37 AM
Not that I want to take the bait, but I don't find it surprising that the school picture company didn't care if you were certified.

Does it matter directly? Is a client going to choose you specifically because you're certified? Who knows. But it matters to me.

Liz

KirkDarling
07-26-2008, 12:48 AM
It depends on the customers. In my area, a good portion of my target market is very much "certification" aware.

Joe_Galioto
07-26-2008, 01:54 AM
i don't think clients care about cpp or degrees. they come to you because of reputation, recomendation, visability, nice looking studio, preceived quality of your work etc.
we're the only ones who give a rats a-s about stuff like that.
with accountants or medical people care.
i have the degrees, and was certified for years starting in the mid-80's, never has it gotten me any clients. maybe with a press release?
dropped the cpp years ago, got tired of the annual fee.
joe

Keith_A_Howe
07-26-2008, 02:12 AM
David,
First off welcome to this forum. I know you have been corresponding with my wife via email and she directed you to join here. I am sure you will come to find this forum a valuable resource.