PDA

View Full Version : Would this work?! Real CC wanted.

Angela_Lawson
06-12-2008, 08:44 PM
I know I've never entered comp., and even though I bought a case, I didn't think I'd have time to even look at any images for possiblities. What do you think of this one? It's very light, because I was going for the old faded photo look on it. If you think it would work, how would I make it comp ready regarding how dark it should be?

Was thinking "Take me out to the Ballgame" or "Play Ball" for a title?

Any and all comments welcome - including if you don't think it's comp worthy.
Thanks.
Angela

Angela_Lawson
06-13-2008, 03:25 PM
Now, I'm pretty sure the lighting is good, so is there just not enough impact? Anything I could change to make it better?

Noelle_Zaleski
06-13-2008, 03:36 PM
Angela, I don't think it has the impact you may need. I am no expert that is for sure but I think it looks like a typical portrait. The baby is adorable but he is not doing anything special to make me say wow.

Now if you are going to go for an "aged photo look" I would make sure the title fits the image. Using the word nastalgia or something like that.

Hopefully somebody that really knows what they are saying will chime in. ;)

Cindi_Delaney
06-13-2008, 03:38 PM
Angela,
As you know I'm NOT an authority. And I've never entered any kind of competition for photography. So this is purely opinion.
That said. The whole thing seems a little washed out or maybe white to me.

John_Metcalfe
06-13-2008, 04:07 PM
Angela,

First, remove yourself from the print. Now, remove the ability to see anything but the image. Close your eyes, empty your mind (not a joke), open them and tell me the first thing you see, then start your journey through the image. List all that you see for and against the image.

Once you have done so, I'll caompare notes with you.

Angela_Lawson
06-13-2008, 04:31 PM
John,