PDA

View Full Version : CC for competition

JohnMalboeuf
05-10-2008, 01:22 AM
I am looking for a case filler for nationals.

In Dad's Arms
http://www.johnmphoto.com/images/DadsArms_lrl.jpg

All comments welcome.

Thanks,
John

Ashley_Short
05-10-2008, 03:43 AM
John,

I'm no expert, but I'm a bit distracted by the tattoos. The first thing I see when looking at the photo is "BIG DOG."

Nice lighting, though.
Hope more ppl comment.

Ashley

Noelle_Zaleski
05-10-2008, 01:24 PM
I agree with Ashley the tattos are a bit distracting.

Keith_A_Howe
05-10-2008, 02:02 PM
I understand what Ashley and Noelle are saying, but on this print I think the tattoo is part of the story. It perpetuates the idea of a big tough guy who is brought to his knees - metephorically- by a tiny baby. The contrast of tough and hard against sweet and soft. As always I turned to Holly for a title and she came up with "There's a New Dog in Town"

What is a problem with the tattoo IMO is the lower one. The cross isn't needed for this story and that lower left corner is the brightest area of the image. I would crop it out. I am looking at this on my old laptop with the poor moniter so that may be effecting what I am seeing, but the print looks muddy to me, no snap. That is fixable in PS. The other issue is loss of detail in the baby's eyes. I can't see any seperation from the iris to the pupil. Again, that's fixable. I don't feel strongly that this will merit, but with corrections it will at least be close. I would send it.
Keith

Stewart_Schulze
05-10-2008, 04:23 PM
i like the image.
there is one thing you might want to put a little detail in the dark part of the babies hair and the eye of the man just above the nose just try to get a little separation

JohnMalboeuf
05-11-2008, 02:50 AM