PDA

View Full Version : CC Please

Ashley_Short
05-08-2008, 05:17 AM
I'm going through some of my images and came across these. Please tell me if you think they would work for competition or CPP. If they are competition worthy, titles would be an awesome help, too.

If you don't like them, I can handle the CC, so please, dish it! I'm here to learn!

Thank you!!

Ashley_Short
05-08-2008, 05:17 AM
One more.

Thanks again!

Heather_L._Smith
05-08-2008, 03:13 PM
Hey, Ashley! Okay, I came and looked at this thread, didn't say anything, went back out and saw that there were 30 views and no posts, so decided to come back and share what I saw.

Now, I'm not an expert at print comp by any means, but I'll share my initial response to the images...

#1 - I think something like this would work just fine for CPP and I think it would score in the upper 70's in competition. The tricky thing here is that it's a subject we've seen a million times... a HS senior. For comp, we have to do something different, unique, interesting. I think it was John Metcalf who said 'the judges are given an entire seat to sit in, but we only want them to use the edge of it,' which I think is a great quote. I think one of the reasons there were 30 views and no posts is that there's nothing wrong with these images, they just don't make us perch on the edge of our seat to get a closer look. I think you've got something great to work with on this first image. I think it could be pumped up by doing a cross-process or something funky and cool. You've got the colors in the image to pull it off, and the ripped jeans and flip flops give you room to experiment with something like that.