PDA

View Full Version : Definition: EI and Photo

Cindi_Delaney
03-31-2008, 02:20 PM
Okay I'm new to this so I need help with a definition.
I know EI stands for Electronic Imaging and the other competition is for photo.
Is there a point where it becomes one and not the other?

Keith_A_Howe
03-31-2008, 02:24 PM
The issue here is not whether it's one or the other but what you are wanting it judged for. Portrait open is judged for the actual image, and you have to have created the original image. EI is judged on the work that was done to the image. You do not have to be the original creator of the image, just have done the work.

Keith

Sandra_Pearce
03-31-2008, 02:25 PM
Cindi,

Not yet. You can enter EI in photography. I feel that with as much work that is done on an image they are all EI. Maybe there needs to be photography and painted art. I don't know the solution. I only enter my painted work in EI (was called ART TECH) because it has been taken way past a photograph. Competition will eventually catch up with digital art.

Sandra

Cindi_Delaney
03-31-2008, 02:26 PM
Thanks Keith.
As always you understand the most poorly written and obscure questions.

Cindi_Delaney
03-31-2008, 02:27 PM
That's because you Sandra are an honorable person. :D

Keith_A_Howe
03-31-2008, 02:34 PM
. I only enter my painted work in EI (was called ART TECH)

Sandra, that's not quite right. I can't speak for what they do in your state, but on the national level EI and Art Tech are/were two seperate competitions. I am a Master artist, which was earned through entering art tech competition. Art tech was traditional oils, pencils, dyes, chalks, etc applied to the surface of the print. EI originally was for video taping, then evolved be electronic enhancement of images.

Keith

Sandra_Pearce
03-31-2008, 02:41 PM
Keith,