PDA

View Full Version : Another Possibility?

Jacob_Chinn
03-27-2008, 10:20 PM
So I'm slowly going through my images for comp. Here is another I like, what do you think?

http://www.jacobchinn.com/postingphotos/tree.jpg

Tess_Teter
03-28-2008, 12:40 AM
I'm no expert on competition, but I see shots like this now and then and it goes against everything I've ever heard about wedding/bridal portraits.

Who has planned the big day? The Bride. Who is wearing the big foofy dress that costs a lot of money and causes a lot of discomfort and she had to diet for 3 months to get into it? The Bride Who is going to be selecting the photos? The Bride. Everything about a wedding, sorry guys, is about The Bride!

So why do we have a photo with the back of her head and some guy looking at her?

I like men as much as the next girl (that doesn't sound reassuring?), but nobody really cares much to see the groom. Normally, if it were up to him, he would just as soon stay home and watch some NCAA basketball on tv and put the marriage certificate in the mail.

Unless it was a spectacularly ugly bride, I guess it just offends me that we only see the back of her head as if she's just a prop.

*stepping down off my soapbox*

Noelle_Zaleski
03-28-2008, 01:01 AM
Jacob I really love the roots coming from underneath them but I find the wood on top a bit distracting, I think you should darken that area. I think a tighter crop may help.

D._Craig_Flory
03-28-2008, 01:14 AM
Hi Jacob;

My eyes go to everything BUT the bride. I love images of brides, or couples, .. on bridges, by fountains, and other romantic locales. This spot would be incredible for a senior portrait. It doesn't work for me for a wedding couple.

Mark_Levesque
03-28-2008, 02:01 AM
This is what bothers me about Tess. She beats around the bush too much. :D

Teya_Rutherford
03-28-2008, 02:30 AM